Pushing Skyrim’s Heightmap to its Limits!

newhmsuccess01.PNG

The new heightmap is looking great. I mean really great! Sometimes adversity can be a blessing in disguise. I’m still salty about losing the work I put into the old one, though. Oh well. Back up, back up, back up.

I decided to see what happened if I bent the rules a bit and let some of my terrain creep into the danger zone past 76% black. This is a very mountainous worldspace with lots of changes in height, some of it extreme, and darkening the heightmap enough to get below the 76% black cutoff causes me to lose a lot of terrain detail.

ScreenShot493

Oh yeah! Them’s some good lookin’ mountains!

Okay, I can see some issues. The highest peaks have turned into jagged, sawtooth edges. It doesn’t look bad, but those wont be fun to climb in-game. Still, I’m more than happy with the rest of the map. I’ll hand-edit each peak in the Creation Kit using the smooth feature in the landscape editor. I’m not touching that heightmap editor with a 10-foot pole.

Its important to hop in game regularly and check out your worldspace. The landscape rendered in the Creation Kit can look a lot different than in-game. Case in point:

newhmsuccess01

Looks pretty good, right?

ScreenShot482

Yikes, that’s a deep crater! The rim is way too sharp, so I’ll smooth it down a bit.

ScreenShot484

ScreenShot495

ScreenShot478

ScreenShot488

I’ve started making more assets for the worldspace. I needed some volcanic water, but I wasn’t happy with the vanilla volcanic water. This is what I’m going for:

lavo57328.jpeg

That lake is called Boiling Springs Lake, and it’s even more spectacular in person. Yes, it is actually boiling. I’ll be replicating this site in-game.

ScreenShot491

First try at some new volcanic water. This is done by creating a new Water Type and messing with the settings.

Fun times!

Leave a comment